Singer/songwriter Nick Flora

POST MINI-TOUR WRAP UP!

I set out about a week ago on the very familiar interstate 40 west for a work week’s worth of shows.  First stop was Conway, AR @ The Greenhouse.  I’ve played The Greenhouse a few times and it’s more fun each time I play there.  If you’re ever self-booking a tour, a good rule is to book end it with shows in towns with good friends.  Adam Hambrick and Taylor Weston shared the bill with me which made for a super fun show.  My buds Jon and Katie came to the show (after my incessant bugging and telling them that they never come to shows anymore) they took a pic for proof.

The next tour stop was a house show in Lawrence, KS where I was taken under great care of by Mark and Heather Miller.  Really sweet people who opened the show as well.  Met some new fans, and got to make some as well!  All in all, super fun time.

On the way up I killed the 5 hour drive by listening to the audio book of the hilarious and well written “Bossypants” by Tina Fey (read by Tina herself!)  This made for a perfect drive.

Friday night, I was slated to play in Springfield, MO but as things sometimes do on tour, the show didn’t come together well.  Thankfully I had good friends in town to save the day!  I ended up going to see stand-up and star of NBC’s “Community”, Donald Glover perform a free show at MSU!  It was a fun time and hilarious, annnnnd… a little dirty.

Saturday night was spent with some of my favorite people in St. Louis at Foam Coffee & Beer.  Foam is a cool little coffee shop close to downtown and was the perfect venue for this tour.  My longtime pal and former tour-mate, Owen Pye played too.  Always amazing to see him perform.   Got to see my old friends Jon and Christy Shell, Ross and Lindsay Brand, Todd and Juliette Genteman, Josh and Kim Jones, Dave Johnson as well as a few family members that have never seen me play!

Overall there were some long-ish drives, annoying gas prices, and sometimes sleepless nights, but the fun that was had, the people I met, and the music shared, was WELL worth it all.  Thanks to all who came out!

Nick

Leave a Reply

