Singer/songwriter Nick Flora

As Of Late

So, I promised myself I’d start blogging here on a regular basis, and not just about my music or promoting myself in any way shape or form.  Well, maybe that’s asking a bit much.  But I’m trying.

Anyway, since we last met a few things have happened:

1. The kickstarter.com campaign that I started to hopefully fan-fund my new recording, more or less, failed.  Ok, it most definitely failed (“call it what it is”, right?)  But I was humbled by how many of you pledged and after it didn’t reach the final goal, how many of you sent me money anyways.  That’s amazing.  I’m so thankful that there are good people out there that still believe in this thing.

2. I’ve worked up a “plan B” of sorts and have started this recording anyway.  3 days in, and it’s shaping up to be pretty amazing.  This is my first attempt at recording a set of songs that I wrote in the few months leading up to the red button being pushed.  Usually it’s a collection of what I’ve written over the course of a couple years and the songs are fleshed out in almost their final form.  But this time it’s been kind of freeing to go in with the newborn song and flesh it out in the recording process.  My producer, Mr. Andrew Osenga is a huge help in that department.  It’s some new ground creatively for me, and I think some people (including myself) might be surprised by some of what they hear.  So, needless to say, I’m stoked for you guys to hear it.

3. My house is under construction.  There is a backhoe in my backyard.  There will soon be a room with my name on it attached to the back portion of my house.  I’m beyond excited for this since I haven’t had a real “office/writing room” in quite some time.

So, I’m in the process of getting a bunch of things together for this new record.  I want to hit the ground running with a new merch line for you good folks, and soon I’ll be setting up a pre-order “dealie thing.” (That’s the technical term, right?)

And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter: @NickFlora and Facebook http://www.facebook.com/NFloraMusic for  day-to-day updates as well.  I’m excited for this record and hopefully it won’t be too long before it’s in your hands and in your ears.  Maybe even before the end of the year!

After these messages…we’ll be right back.

One response

  1. I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case.
    my God, i thought you were going to chip in with some decisive insght at the end there, not leave it
    with ‘we leave it to you to decide’.

    October 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

